Tags

, , , , , ,

This is my first attempt at writing a sonnet, and it didn’t turn out to be one of my best works because fiction doesn’t seem to be that good a forte anymore. I was trying to go for a picturesque graveyard image while penning the thoughts of a person about to die, but didn’t seem to get that in my writing.

The sonnet is titled so because it took me ten minutes to write this. That also might be the reason why it turned out the way it did.

Will you cry over me when I’m gone?

Come up to my grave and remember

What we were, what we could have been

Paint a picture of days gone past

Perhaps tell me how you are

Maybe I will be able to hear you

If I don’t answer, oh please forgive me

You know how I love you so

And I hope you love me too

Enough to lay lilies on my grave

Maybe shed a tear or two for your friend long gone

And if I can’t be the hand wiping your tears away

I will be the gentle breeze blowing past

Carrying with it the sweet fragrance of the lilies you brought

I will have no regrets

Because even in death, I am happy

I hope you will always know that

Because you won’t cry over me when I’m gone.

